The search for ham

30 Oct

My last day in Slovenia was spent here.
( I realise that I have posted that before, but just look at it.)

I took advantage of the free bikes to go on (what I thought was) a small jaunt for Karst Prust, an air dried ham that is similar to Parma, except less salty. I glanced at the map to find a ham producer, and found one that looked a reasonable cycle.

Half way through my journey however, it became obvious to me that I had blithely ignored the contours, and that just because the road was straight on the map, this did not mean it was flat. This was made most evident during my struggle up a 700m hill on a bike that was barely suitable for flat cities, let alone this hill. Needless to say, I stopped a lot.

Once I arrived, some 2 and half hours later, I found the romantically named “ham drying facility” shut. I sat down, defeated. About 5 minutes later a women wandered out and asked me if I was here for ham. I responded enthusiastically, and a wildly haired old man tottered out of the barn. When he found out where I had come from, I received a heartfelt “Bravo”. But I wasn’t here for applause, I was here for the meat.

I tasted a small amount and detected a mild juniper flavour. Sadly it wasn’t reminiscent of gin.It was tasty, like Gin, although less likely to make you fall off your bike than gin. I purchased about a kg of ham, which was not cheap, but so expensive that it hurt to hand over the money. I justified it by telling myself that this was unlikely to be a frequent purchase, given the location.

The highlight of my trip was a visit to the various rooms where the ham was cured as well as the wine cellar.

The Sausage Wall

A Big Bit of Ham


Pig Shaped Wine Jar


The ideal gift for somebody who likes Wine and trotters. We all know somebody like that, surely?

The best thing is that there is a secret door in the cellar.

Holy Wine Cave Batman!

All in all, this was an excellent end to my time in Slovenia. It was interesting to see that there was a active promotion of the various tourist farms and producers in the area, with leaflets galore. This was something that the tourist board were keen to tell you about, and hopefully to preserve.

Leave a Reply

